Tickets

Pont du Gard

The Pont du Gard, an impressive ancient construction

The Pont du Gard was an ambitious project It carried water from Uzès to Nîmes, over a distance of 50 km. The total incline of the aqueduct is the smallest of all known Roman aqueducts, with an average of 24cm/km.

During the 15 years it took to build, in the 1st century AD, engineers, foremen and labourers worked hard on this fantastic project, which would supply water to Nîmes for five centuries. The Augustan colony, accustomed to Roman traditions, had built fountains, baths, and gardens, in addition to the fulling industry and other trades that required large quantities of water (around 35,000m3 per day). The source from the Fountain alone was not enough to satisfy all these needs.

Three overlapping bridges

The Pont du Gard is the most famous section of the aqueduct, and one of the most precious monuments of Antiquity. There are three overlapping bridges, with 6, 11 and 35 successive arches, and the central arch beat the record at that time with an opening measuring 24.50m.
Still today, visitors flock to admire this monument in lush green surroundings, and families love to relax and swim in the shade of this majestic construction.

 

Pont du gard

400 route du Pont du Gard
30210 Vers-Pont-du-Gard

Find out more

To find out about the activities available in the Gard, the Roman sites and Museums across the French department:

Explore the Gard

Billetterie

Pont du Gard

Le Pont du Gard, un édifice antique impressionnant

Le Pont du Gard représente un ouvrage audacieux. Il conduisait, sur 50 km, les eaux d’Uzès à Nîmes. La déclivité totale de l’aqueduc est la plus faible de tous les aqueducs romains connus en affichant une moyenne de 24cm/km.

Durant les 15 années de sa construction, au 1er siècle de notre ère, ingénieurs, contremaitres et ouvriers se sont relayés pour mener à bien ce formidable projet et ainsi fournir de l’eau courante à Nîmes pendant cinq siècles. En effet, la colonie augustéenne, très au fait des coutumes romaines, avait construit fontaines, thermes, jardins, en plus d’industries de foulons et d’activités qui nécessitaient un grand débit d’eau (environ 35 000m3 quotidiens). La seule source de la Fontaine ne permettait pas de couvrir la totalité de ces besoins.

Trois ponts superposés

Le Pont du Gard reste la partie la plus célèbre de tout cet ensemble, et l’un des vestiges les plus précieux de l’Antiquité. Il compte trois ponts superposés, constitués successivement de 6, 11 et 35 arcades, et son arche centrale pulvérise le record de l’époque avec ses 24,50m d’ouverture.
Aujourd’hui encore, les visiteurs se pressent nombreux pour admirer ce site enchâssé dans un écrin de verdure et au pied duquel les familles aiment se retrouver pour ses détendre et se baigner sous son ombre majestueuse.

Pont du gard

400 route du Pont du Gard
30210 Vers-Pont-du-Gard

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Pour découvrir les activités à faire dans le Gard, tous les sites romains et musées du département :

DÉCOUVREZ LE GARD

Arènes de Nîmes et Musée de la Romanité