Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nîmes (Fine Arts Museum)
The Fine Arts Museum was built at the beginning of the 20th century, to house the town’s art collections. Almost a century later, it was spectacularly renovated by Jean-Michel Wilmotte, in keeping with the external architecture of the building, but adapting the museum spaces to contemporary uses.
The superb ancient mosaic featuring the myth of Admetus’ wedding, discovered in Nîmes in 1883 takes pride of place in the atrium.
Visitors can then discover Italian works from the 14th to the 18th centuries in chronological order (Giambono, Bassano, Preti), from the north between the 16th and 18th centuries (Bramer, Rubens, De Heem, Both, Pynacker) and French works from the 17th to the 19th centuries (Chaperon, Reynaud Levieux, Boucher, De Troy, Natoire, Sigalon, Delaroche). The 15th-century Foulc tondo, Madonna in earthenware by Andra della Robbia is one of the museum’s prize pieces.
Rue Cité Foulc